Hey Guys, I’m Stressed

Hey everyone! I know I haven’t posted much lately; as most of you know (probably because I can’t seem to stop talking about it), my schedule this semester is really intense. Like, next-level intense. I’m still getting used to it, which is probably obvious.

But I miraculously have some time right now before I go to bed, and I figured I’d be proactive and add something to the blog. Oh, and trust me, I know I missed last week’s adulthood goal. I’m not proud of it. I just totally flaked. *insert bashful winky face*.

I have no idea what I’m going to write about here, so I thought I’d just ramble for a while until I take up enough room appropriate for a blog post. I KNOW, I should be totally ashamed with myself for, like, trivializing the art of blogging or whatever, but please, let this one slide. It’s only three weeks into the semester and I feel like I’ve been here three years.

Hey, I have an idea! Instead of talking about my boring problems for a few paragraphs, why don’t some of you guys tell me about yourselves? I know I’m not the only one with a full plate. What’s going on in all of your lives? What are you stressed about? How’s the blogging going? Let me know in the comments! I’d love to hear from you guys.

I mean…okay. I’m trying to think of something interesting to say. Blah blah blah. Today I had three classes. Intermediate Fiction Writing, Writing for the Professions, and Literary Publishing. It doesn’t sound like much, but they’re freakin’ draining as hell. I mean, my publishing class is two and a half hours long. Hey, all you High School kids out there? ENJOY YOUR 42 MINUTE CLASSES WHILE YOU CAN, KIDDOS. It only gets worse from here.

Whoa, that is DARK. Sorry, ya’ll. I mean, at least I’m not a Biology student of whatever. They have to sit through all those gosh darn labs. *Gets nauseous just thinking about it*

In all honesty, I love college. I really do. I love being in a new environment even though it also terrifies me. I love getting closer and closer to achieving my goals, even though the reality of being a published author is pretty grim. I love relying on myself, even though I often feel incapable of doing pretty much anything. I love more about myself that I ever thought I would, all because I decided to go away to college. See? That’s not so dark.

Don’t get me wrong, though. I don’t regret my first two years at community college for a MINUTE. Well, okay, maybe I regretted it A LITTLE when I was forced to go through the hellish admissions process at the same time my friends were cozy and snuggled in their dorm beds with nary a worry (or so I  thought). But in the end, I don’t think I would have been ready to go away to college immediately after High School. I was too small, too lazy, and too hard on myself. I think that a key part of growing up is accepting that you won’t always be in control of everything, even if it’s hard to admit. If I could talk to 17-year-old me, I’d say, “STOP BEING SO HARD ON YOURSELF, DAMN IT!” I would also remind myself of the dangers of too many french fries and to just bite the bullet and cut my bangs already.

ANYWAY. I think this blog post has reached a reasonable length. Honestly, though, thanks to everyone who reads/likes/comments/glances at my stuff. It really means a lot.

And that’s coming from an over-caffeinated, slightly-unhinged Creative Writing student, so you know I mean it.

Oh, and one more thing: What did you think about the poem I posted a few days ago? I know it’s weird, I just really liked how it flowed. I think I’ll post some more poetry/short stories in the future, just to see what you guys think. I’m looking forward to it 🙂

Anyway, I’m off to down a bag of skittles and call it a night. TOODLES!

 

2 thoughts on “Hey Guys, I’m Stressed

Leave a Reply

